Picture perfect couple shots

If  there is one thing that I regret (I know, I hate that word) about my wedding day, it’s that I didn’t properly consider the posed couple shot. I was adamant that all I wanted were natural shots, and don’t get me wrong I love our photographs. But looking at some of these couple portraits makes me wish that I’d been braver and embraced the pose.

If you would like a posed shot then a bit of research into the kind of shot you want could be invaluable to your photographer.

Head on

This shot is about you and your beau standing straight towards the camera and often its all about the background; I think the quirkier the better with these.

L: Smitten Photography R: Stoffer Photography

L: Smitten Photography R: Stoffer Photography

Clockwise from top: Mademoiselle Fiona Photography; Jen Bartell; Our Labour of Love; Pen Carlson

Clockwise from top: Mademoiselle Fiona Photography; Jen Bartell; Our Labour of Love; Pen Carlson

T: Jessica Holley B: 13 13

T: Jessica Holley B: 13 13

Clockwise from top: Jose Villa; Brooke Courtney; Michael Moss Photography; Stacy Jacobson

Clockwise from top: Jose Villa; Brooke Courtney; Michael Moss Photography; Stacy Jacobson

Clockwise from top: 2 Brides Photography; Brinton Photography; Lane Dittoe

Clockwise from top: 2 Brides Photography; Brinton Photography; Lane Dittoe

Soft and tender

Oh the forehead kiss, it gets me everytime! So sweet and romantic. Capturing this moment might seem hard now but I can promise you that you’ll be so giddy with emotion that it will be the most natural thing in the world. I must confess, I went a little gooey eyed over the swept-up rose rub image – romantic as hell!

Clary Photograph

Clary Photograph

L: Ciara Richardson R: Steve Gerrard

L: Ciara Richardson R: Steve Gerrard

Clockwise from top: Ryan Ray Photography; Anthem Photography; Lane Dittoe;  Caroline Joy Photography

Clockwise from top: Ryan Ray Photography; Anthem Photography; Lane Dittoe; Caroline Joy Photography

L: Delbarre Moradi R: White Haute Photography

L: Delbarre Moradi R: White Haute Photography

Clockwise from top: Annie Mcalwain; White Haute Photography; One Love; KT Merry Photography

Clockwise from top: Annie Mcalwain; White Haute Photography; One Love; KT Merry Photography

Back beauty

I love these shots because it feels like you’ve simply stumbled upon a moment. It also shows off my favorite part of nearly every wedding dress, the back.

L: Studio Impressions R: Peaches and Mint

L: Studio Impressions R: Peaches and Mint

L: Virgil Bunao R: Steve Steinhart

L: Virgil Bunao R: Steve Steinhart

L: One Love R: Brandon Werth Photography

L: One Love R: Brandon Werth Photography

Dance like no-one’s watching

I think that every girl needs a wedding day twirl. This is the kind of couple shot that I badly wished I had (although I’m pretty sure, it’s the shot my husband is thrilled that he didn’t have to do!)

T: Kristen Marie Photography B: Joe Elario Photography

T: Kristen Marie Photography B: Joe Elario Photography

Clockwise from top: KT Merry Photography; Ken Kienow; Kelly Dillon Photography; Kate Robinson

Clockwise from top: KT Merry Photography; Ken Kienow; Kelly Dillon Photography; Kate Robinson

L: Nancy Cohl R: Paper Antler

L: Nancy Cohl R: Paper Antler

Full Holywood smacker

Dubious about the full on kiss shot? Don’t be. This little collection shows that the kiss can be just as sweet and romantic as the others. After all, it’s your wedding day – go on, kiss!

L: B&G Photography R: Becky Hill Photography

L: B&G Photography R: Becky Hill Photography

Tom Blachford

Tom Blachford

L: Gia Canali R: Nancy Ray Photography

L: Gia Canali R: Nancy Ray Photography

Leave a reply

